• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Leopard 2A4

reconron

Change of plans,
First I so much wanted to do the Fennek for this campaign,but I think I probably will not have enough time for it with the changes I wanna do on it and the on going info gathering.

Well,here's a favorite modern tank instead of it;the Leopard 2A4.

As a matter of fact it served in the Dutch Cavalry Recce bataljons when I was a conscript soldier.Ofcourse not that much as a recce vehicle but as armor fist if needed.

IMG_0571.JPG

IMG_0572.JPG

TIJD_STEMPEL_LEO.jpg

Leo propaganda video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=P0gtiPRA5qQ

Greetings,Ron.

uh... great! I want to build this kit... so this will be nice to follow. :popcorn

All the best!
Dusan.

Looking forward to this one Ron

I guess this is an example of recon in force?
:popcorn

Not really, Dave. The tanks in reconnaissance battalions were used as fire brigade as it might be necessary, or in combination with tirailleurs (skirmishers) organically assigned to the armored reconnaissance units like tanks with infantry support. It had at the time, something to do with the Cold War doctrine in Europe of delaying battle to the enemy, who would come from the east, as far as possible to slow down so that a larger force of troops and allied ones (most likely from across the Atlantic) could be built to strike back.

Don't know if that would have worked however. :idonno (glad that the Cold War didn't get hot)

Greetings,Ron.

Nice choice, was this the kit you picked-up earlier this year ??

Ian

Yes it is,Ian. :)
The box has this text on it,by the way:Officialy licensed by Krauss-Maffei Wegmann.