• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Revell 1/72 TL Flitzer

MichelC

Hi everybody! This is my first build here on MA, right in the 1946 campaign. I just start a new thread, hoping that's alright.

TL stands for Turbinen Luftstrahltriebwerk. That's German for jet engine. With words like that no wonder they lost the war. :eek:hmy:

Flitzer means dasher. There's a second meaning to the word but I won't say what it is. Look it up on Google Images. Just make sure your kids are not in the room. :S

Back story: American GI's didn't get to watch enough Private Snafu movies and the offensive in Europe comes to a grinding halt, allowing the Germans to develop their wonder weapons and throw into combat, among other stuff, the Flitzer. :silly:

The kit is the ROG offering from their Luft 46 line. It's nice to see a mainstream brand turn their attention to a subject like this. Nice little kits, too.

sui.JPG

jssw.jpg

The decals sheets contains a plethora of stencils and stuff, which I always appreciate. No swastikas, though.

There is a detailing set for this kit from Airwaves.

9prl.jpg

The fit of the photoetch leaves a lot to be desired and I was off to a bad start. I'll spare you the details. Let's just say that the whole thing almost ended up in the O-file. But I thought the better of it and instead I came up with a dio idea I'd never have thought of had Airwaves done a better job. Use the motion that comes in and win, that's what I say!

In pics:

From the mess you can see here...

if75.jpg

...I managed to get out something that looks like a half decent pit.

cockpit012.jpg

That's all for now. I'll show you more in the next installment.

M

Looks nice Michel :good: