• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

USS Ranger F4F-4 Wildcat Done!

nerdling

I picked up the a Tamiya Wildcat a few weeks ago for next to nothing. Only been working on it for maybe a day so far. Grabbed an Eduard zoom set to liven up the cockpit a bit.

IMG_7607.JPG

This is my first time using an oil wash. So not really sure if I got it right or not. But gotta start somewhere.
I also fixed the kits one "fatal" flaw :rotf Seen some people really complain about the solid floor. Took all of a minute to fix that.

IMG_7608.JPG

You can see that the kit seat is a bit off in shape. I realize the green should be more of a dark green, but this was the closest match to the green that Eduard supplied.

IMG_7610.JPG

IMG_7614.JPG

I also picked up some sea sponges at Michael's yesterday. I really like the random pattern they provide for the weathering.

USS Ranger F4F-4 Wildcat

I know the Chef will be please... :tomato

Looking good so far Ryan. :pilot

USS Ranger F4F-4 Wildcat

I've been a bit guilty of not taking photos of this nearly enough lol. So this is where she sits as of right now. The only kit decals are the small emblem below the cockpit. Everything else came from the decal dungeon. I also tried my hand at painting markings for the first time on the tail strips. They aren't perfect but way better than a decal.

IMG_7620.JPG

IMG_7621.JPG

USS Ranger F4F-4 Wildcat

One of my favorite Wildcat schemes. With the stripes and before they got rid of the meatball in the star. Looking very nice (y) (y) (y) (y) (y) (y)
James

USS Ranger F4F-4 Wildcat