• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Tanker 59 - 1/48 B-26C Invader Air Tanker

SpitfireGuy

Ok so this is my first project thread on here and it is actually a project I am returning too and one that has had at least one identity change over its lifespan.

I have always had a love for the A/B-26 Invader especially its long, interesting and often clandestine career in the years after the Second World War. It is also one of the most beautiful twins ever built. however, the world has yet to come out with a truly nice and 100% accurate kit of this, IMHO, iconic aircraft. What we do have in y scale of choice is the venerable Monogram A-26C and A-26B kits. They are not bad but they do have some outline issues that are hard to correct and they are from the raised panel line era. Granted the raised panel detail is very nicely done and I am not one who has a theological aversion to raised panel detail. If the kit fits reasonably well and has raised detail I am just as happy as a clam....but as is the case with the Monogram A-26 the kit does not fit well and I have to sand and putty to the nth power I have issues with raised detail because there is no easy and convincing way to replace it (WOW inherent to that statement I suggest that scribing is easy and fast.... :unsure: ). Must Have released a new A-26 in 1/48 last year but it turned out to be a revamped Monogram kit of sorts and while it has recessed detail and some nice resin it falls down in a lot of other areas and cost nearly thrice the price of the Monogram kit......