• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Italeri Pak 38

stitch_83

Evening folks,

After gettin so many kits dug out from the depths of my "to finish" pile and nearly done (STAP, Buccaneer, Mirage, AC-47, Me262) , I thought I'd treat myself to starting a new one.

It's nothing fancy, just a kit to "break" the dribbly finishes of my others, no complexity, no surprises! Oh yeah and its my first build log from the start, so please be gentle!!! ::)

Anyway, less talky more piccy...

The obligatory box-shot

DSC_0003Pak38Box.jpg

Sprues (they look awfully like old Tamiya sprues)

DSC_0004Pak381.jpg

Gona have to do something about this...

DSC_0005Pak381.jpg

lucky it's the second layer of armour, so not on full show
--------------------------------------------------------
So after just about an hour's work, mostly involving Mr Swann-Morton, Mr P1200 wet & dry and Mr needle file, we have this: -

2 trails, 1 slidy thing for under the barrel (I forget the technical term) and 1 chassis

DSC_0006Pak381.jpg

Which translates into this, something vaguely Pak-looking

DSC_0007Pak381.jpg

All in all it looks like a half-decent kit, although it has more flash than a Jaguar owner's club meeting in a camera shop :cool: it's nothing some shaving and sanding can't handle.

As usual, comments & crit welcome.

Stitch

Here's an update.

Smoothed off the wheels with the trusty lathe method

DSC_0003Pak382.jpg

and got a few other fiddly bits together. Trails are done (these handles were a pain to locate), the gun barrel is drying, the cradle that holds the barrel is done and cleaned up and the shield is almost done.

DSC_0006Pak382.jpg