• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

I just bought my first airbrush compressor

Yeah, I must be getting into this whole modeling thing pretty hard. I just dropped the cash for this thing when I've never used an airbrush before. :silly:
After I'm sure where my play-money is at when this payment clears, then I'll look at a hose and an airbrush.

My plan is to get a cheap double-action brush to learn with, then upgrade to a name brand nice one once I know what I'm doing.

Any tips for a first time airbrush painter?

Tips, practice practice practice. Share your testing with us and we'll be glad to help. I think it's wise to start off with a double action.

I watch many YouTube vids, and it was always mentioned that single action just isn't as useful. That's also why I went with a compressor with a tank. I think this will serve me longer without wanting to upgrade to remove any possible pulses in the air pressure.
I have a number of scrap pieces to practice on, so I'll share what I do here. I don't want to screw up all my hard work on the Falcon build with a bad paint job.

I think the trickiest thing you're going to run into is how to get the paint thinned enough. An old friend years ago taught me the dip test. Dip a needle or piece of wire in your paint, if it beads up, drop and beads up again but just hangs there, it's thin enough to airbrush. I don't put a lot of stock into exact ratios of paint to thinner, just what works best for you in what you're trying to achieve.

I have no idea about that particular air compressor but the tank should take care of any pulses in pressure .