• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Texas Raider Lost

Just saw that. They fear 6 people may be dead. B-17 flew into the King Cobra. Very sad.
James

Very sad indeed, looked like to me a p-63 flew into the B-17. How that happend is yet to be know. Someone FKD up somewhere, thats for sure.

The angle I saw the Cobra came into the B17 amidships and from under his nose, he was probably looking for the bomber.

@Rhino tells me this is the same B17 that Paul Mantz did the one wheel touch down in the movie Tora Tora Tora.

I am not an expert. I wasn't there when this very public mishap occurred. I have not been in command of any sort of aircraft in 1/2 of a Lifetime. My OPINION is that Mr. King Cobra was in a banking turn in such a fashion that Texas Raiders was under his nose, I imagine until the very last second. Along about the time his prop started chopping B-17G, it doesn't appear he realized were Texas Raiders was, having been instructed by GCA to take the lead in the "Parade of Bombers" that is commonplace in a Confederate Air Force airshow.

MSM has been telling us what happened in their usual "Jump to Conclusions" sort of fashion that largely ignores the shocking loss to these 6 Texas families. "After leaving the McDonald's drive-thru the P-63 pilot spilled his chocolate shake and rammed the bomber" or some other such ridiculous garbage.
1668358588174.png

Texas Raiders and her CAF crew. September 2022.

Let's wait until the NTSB & FAA release their findings until we pass final judgement, shall we?
Let us offer our prayers and sympathies to the families of the victims this tragic collision.