• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Help on pre - painting methods

Phil

Here is an area that is a mystery to me, pre painting.

Is it just me who thinks - but how exactly did you do that - when viewing somebodies build when they write, (''I pre (or and ) post shaded'')

1/ Pre Shading
What is it, Why do it, Then the method.

2/ Post Shading
What is it, Why do it, Then the method.

A written step by step on this would be a huge help for all who want to try this, me included!

Howdi Phil,

not that I'm an expert here, but I've tried or better do it most of my builds with sometimes more and sometimes less notice able outcome :) so what is it for me:

PreShading:
well it's nothing more that spraying the panel line in a dark color so that could look through - yes but in fact it is tons more :) imagine working with semi transparent colors, lets say transparent for about 25%. If you lay i.e. a green above an red and then mist on top of that a dark blue you get a very dark brown/black. This you can use to tint panels. You lay down some red, blue and or green on to some panels and then if you spray better mist a fine layer of green on top of that you have some panels already shaded different. together with preshaded dark panel lines you already have some nice variations in your color and thats what I think preshading is all about.

postshading: