• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Eduard MIG-21 SMT

Skinny_Mike

Hey everyone! Its been a busy year end break for me. I am getting in a lot of building. At the December meeting for my local model club, we decided on 3 in house contests that we were going to conduct. The first was “M for March”. Basically the rules are; build a kit that has an M in the name for the March meeting. This was the perfect excuse for me to build the Eduard MIG-21 SMT in my stash.

Post11_zpsbc7472e7.jpg

Since I am a pretty slow builder, I figured I better get started. Little did I know just how quick this thing was going to go together! I started the kit just before Christmas, and have been taking some pictures but I haven’t stopped to post anything, until now. So here’s the update…

All the internals are painted and ready for assembly. The engine bits are at the top of the folder and the cockpit parts are at the bottom. The shock cone was painted in radome green from Akan paints. I haven’t used Akan paints before but they sprayed really nicely. For those that don’t know Akan seems to specialize in Russian paints and are color matched.

Post12_zps940cec23.jpg

The cockpit was detailed painted, I didn’t use the photoetch for the side consoles, assembled and then installed, along with the shock cone. I added some weight to the nose by squishing some fishing weights and gluing them to the side of the fuselage. I also filled the shock cone with little fishing weights and then filled it with super thin CA glue to secure the weights in place. The aircraft is pretty nose heavy now.

Post13_zpsd315a1dc.jpg

Post14_zpsd7831155.jpg