• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

1/72 MK.II Supply Tank

Re: 1/72 MK.II Supply Tank - Painting

Hey All

Well.. I'm not going to meet my self imposed deadline of ANZAC day (today), but I am on track for finishing by the GB's deadline.

Today I got out into the shed to do the painting. Now.. I'm no expert, but I can say that using an over-inflated spare wheel as a propellant is NOT a great idea!! You find yourself constantly refilling the tyre with air. And, another thing I learned today was that if the wee hose inside the jar on a suction fed airbrush is not pointing the right way, then you don't get paint. And lastly, you get what you pay for.. the wee rubber hose in the airbrush jar falls to bits easily when you go to turn it around on cheap air brushes.

DSC_3148.jpg

But.. I managed to get paint onto the model, and with any luck it will look ok when done. For now, here's the shots of the new colour. I changed my mind about using Khaki Drab, and changed it to Khaki as it seems to be the accepted colour used on most WWI models (conformist I know).

DSC_3150.jpg

DSC_3152.jpg

I do need some advice though. I've used Tamiya acrylic for the Khaki. I was wondering how long the drying time is for this?

That's all for now

Cheers

Rob

Can't answer your question, what are you going to use for a wash? I know I'd give it a couple of days if it's something harsh.