• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Rubber molds for plaster blocks

Dave Diaz

Hello fellow modelers.

On this thread I will share a simple technique I use often to mass produce parts to be used in making scratch scenery.

Dave's Trick # 2

Making rubber molds for plaster blocks

Using silicone rubber to make molds in order to create unlimited number of modeling pieces is not a new technique. It was created and refined by train modelers and wargammers in order to create their sceneries.

I have been using this technique for a few years now and I have to say I love it! It is perfect for building structures for 1/35 military dioramas. Even if it looks a little intimidating, its quite simple and easy to master.

The first thing to do is to make your masters. These are the pieces you want to copy. I usually make my masters in plaster also, this because plaster is easy to sculpt and sand into shape. Geometrical and straight shapes are the easiest to cast. The important thing is for the part to have a flat side. This will be the side facing down when you pour the rubber.

Step-1.jpg

If you are making building blocks for structures your measurements must be precise. I can’t stress this enough. Otherwise your pieces won’t be interchangeable. The best thing is to make a good number of masters, this will make duplicating faster.

Step2.jpg