• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Natural Metal Finish

Big10

After some recent discussion down in Mustang Mania on how to apply NMF I thought I would share what I do and use for my NMF. First and foremost I am no expert when is comes to this subject and there are many many different ways to achieve your NMF. This is just a few of my ways that yield me good results.

I have two ways I do my NMF. The first discussed will be the traditional way of applying a NMF.

Preparations is the key for achieving a nice NMF, the model must be free of any debris, lint or fuzz. The plastics need to be free of any defect, scratches and smooth as possible before we apply the paints used for the NMF. For sanding I like to use these products for my prep. I really like using the Infini stuff and the 4000 polish gives a great smooth finish. Don't forget you can use some of Tamiya polishing compound to really get a smooth finish.
spnge.JPG
Mesh.JPG
Infini.JPG
Infini1.JPG
Tamiya.JPG

I use the compound after I apply my base color which we will talk about now.

Black Base and Gloss base(don't mine the Mr. Finishing Surface 1500, that comes into play later)