• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Airfix P-40 Oiled up

moon puppy

Administrator
Staff member
I've been itching to try this.

So I grabbed an Airfix P40 from HobbyLobby pretty cheap. Think I've spent more in oils than the kit.
h063d2fe.jpg

While I build this I can't get this out of my head.

Which, I think I have the markings for... :D

So I put the cockpit together pretty quickly. Stole some navy seat belts, anyone call me out i'm charging double on next months dues... :eek:hyeah

hb8a8271.jpg

h80ebe02.jpg

So I started playing with the oils to see how they looked. I had intended to use the metallic for a NMF one day so I thought I'd try out some techniques on some internal and not so internal parts. Started with Abteilung 502
hb99341b.jpg

Maybe I got the wrong one but..as you can see, the pigments are just too big. I tried blending it with their white, no go. Even used their fast dry thinner to say I'm doing it right.

Then I tried the AK Aluminum AK455
hcb5fea3.jpg

As you can see it's much better, much finer pigments and totally usable for what I want to do.

Then I wanted to press my luck.

I stopped by the Uschi booth at Chattanooga and discussed the powders they have. I had tested on another kit a while back and it just rolled off. They asked if it was a painted surface, it was. They suggested doing to bare plastic. So I stripped the part I'm playing with, cleaned it up well and dipped a Q-Tip in the powder and started rubbin'.

ha0abd9a.jpg

As you can see, REALLY nice, just too dark for aluminum IMHO.

Oh, and really digging how this is going together so far. Let's see how I can screw it up. :Hiay

Last edited: