• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

A39 Tortoise project

D

DBridges

Hello all!

The past several years haven't been too productive for me modeling-wise. In 2007, I began work on my Master's degree, and in 2008 I started a two year term as a union rep at my place of work. Fortunately, my term as union rep ended on January 1st, 2010, and I finished my degree back in March. So now, mercifully, I have time to continue with my hobbies. The last time I finished a model was back in November of 2008 - the AFV Club kit of the RAAC Centurion Mk. 5/1. I wasn't able to finish anything in 2009. However, I did start a number of kits last year, and among them was the Accurate Armour 1/35th scale kit of the British A39 Tortoise superheavy assault gun.

History
The A39 Tortoise can trace its origins back as early as April of 1943, when the British War Office realized a need for extremely heavily armored tanks in the coming battles in mainland Europe. Nuffield Mechanization Ltd. was tasked with coming up with ideas, and in February, 1944, their AT16 design proposal was approved. Later given the designation A39, the 6 Tortoise that were built were not completed until well after the war was over. A couple were sent to Germany for trials, were they were found to be reliable and hard hitting, but hard to transport at almost 80 tons weight and 10 feet in height.