• Modelers Alliance has updated the forum software on our website. We have migrated all post, content and user accounts but we could not migrate the passwords.
    This requires that you manually reset your password.
    Please click here, http://modelersalliance.org/forums/login to go to logon page and use the "Forgot your Password" option.

Individual Link Tracks For Armor Made Easy

Iron Mike

Master At Arms And Resident Curmudgeon
Lately, I've noticed an aversion to individual link tracks by modelers and couldn't help but wonder why? The old rubber band tracks were SO awful, what would cause folks to shy away from detailed, easy to assemble links? Maybe there's too many? Maybe it's the clean up of injector marks or attachment points? Fitting them together and keeping them that way? Well, maybe this can help ease that pain.

I am no expert, master or anything of the sort, but an old friend of mine who is shared his method with me some years ago. We'll use Dragon's Magic Tracks for the first example. A lot of Dragon's kits are supplied with left and right tracks, so we want to assemble them that way. How do we know how many per run? Here's an easy, surefire way to measure. 3M blue painter's tape is low tack and works well for this. Wrap a length of tape around the sprockets and returns where the tracks will fit, this gives us the length. Split the tape with your knife and attach it sticky side up to a piece of wood or your bench top. I like to use a length of 1x4 pine.

IMG_6730.JPG

IMG_6731.JPG

After cleaning up any ejector marks, you can start assembling the run, making sure you have the links firmly attached and square to each other. Maintaining the alignment goes a long way to easy installation. B)

IMG_6732.JPG

I like to work in lots of 10 at a time, helps me keep track of where I am and doesn't seem to be as daunting as a run of 100. :laugh:

I usually assemble both runs, but you can work one at a time if so desired.