Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: 2018 field work!

2018 field work! 01 Jan 2018 10:22 #1

I think most of you know I'm a marine biologist by trade and focus on shark research. Every January for 2 weeks though I head out to a little island off Nova Scotia called Sable Island to conduct some field research on grey seals ( always good to look at the prey species too!). A bit of a working vacation for me.

We typically travel out to the island by Canadian Coast Guard chopper (typically this has been on Messerschmidt Bo 105's, Bell 212's or Bell 429's) or by a Twin Otter. I just found out that we'll be taking a brand new Bell 412 this year. Should be fun!

:geek
  • sharkman
  • sharkman
  • Master at Arms
    Master at Arms
Warren

On the Bench: Lost count!

The administrator has disabled public write access.

2018 field work! 01 Jan 2018 10:27 #2

Sable Island, that's cool. They have wild horses that were shipwrecked years ago don't they?
I told you photobucket sucks...

"If you don't like it why don't you just let it be"
Hank Williams Jr.

2018 field work! 01 Jan 2018 10:28 #3

Lucky dog.

In a related note, I was surprised to hear about the Threshers washing up off of Cape Cod this past week. I thought seawater never got colder than 36 F to begin with (it rises as ice forms, but I may be confusing this with water at depth or even freshwater at depth) as well as the Gulf Stream and then the bit about ice forming on gills all took me by surprise.

Is this a common issue?
  • ausf
  • ausf
  • Master at Arms
    Master at Arms
What, me worry?

2018 field work! 01 Jan 2018 10:55 #4

moon puppy wrote:
Sable Island, that's cool. They have wild horses that were shipwrecked years ago don't they?